Open Academy Governors 2019/2020

The Open Academy Local Governing body is constituted as part of the Diocese of Norwich Education and Academies Trust (DNEAT). DNEAT is the multi-academy trust that appoints governors to Open Academy. The list of governors as of September 2019 is set out below. The record of attendance for the previous academic year can also be found below. Profiles of the governors can be found by selecting ‘SEE PROFILES’.

The chair of governors Mr Nick Plater and the clerk, Mrs Michelle Shorten can be contacted through the clerk to the governing body.

The policies that the governing body review and approve are set out by selecting ‘Policies’. Key responsibilities of the governing body relate to safeguarding and to the use of funds allocated for specific groups of students. Separate reports on these are available by selecting ‘Safeguarding Children’ and ‘Pupil Premium’. The governing body’s monitoring of Special Educational Needs and student behaviour are carried out in relation to the relevant policies set out under ‘Policies’.

Chair of Governors - see profiles

Mr Nick Plater (Trust appointed)

Trust appointed governors

Mr Basil Choudhry

Mr Mark Hurren

Ms Sue Cant

Charlotte Land

Peter Whear

Astra Richardson

Parent governors


Staff governor

Mr Anthony Edwards


Mr Jon Ford


Mrs Michelle Shorten

news bulletin
OA6 Open Evening
Tuesday 15 October 2019Explore the Academy and your choices for the future.
news bulletin
news bulletin
Breakfast Club
We are proud to be a National School Breakfast Programme school.We are happy to offer a healthy brea...
news bulletin
Press Release
Open Academy celebrates more than 20% increase in GCSE passes.This year 60% of Open Academy GCSE stu...
news bulletin
Year 6 Open Evening
Wednesday 2 October 2019Meet our student ambassadors Visit departments Explore our outstanding build...
Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy